

Office of the Board of Selectmen 2 Town Hall Road, Newton, NH 03858 Tel: 382-4405 ext. 10 * Fax 382-9140

www.newton-nh.gov

NEWTON BOARD OF SELECTMEN DATE: TUESDAY, September 5, 2017 TIME: 6:30PM LOCATION: NEWTON TOWN HALL, 2 TOWN HALL ROAD PUBLIC HEARING MINUTES

I. Call to Order

Chairman Burrill called the public hearing to order at 6:36pm. In attendance were Selectmen, Matthew A. Burrill, Chairman, Lisa L. Gonyer, Vice-Chairman, Robert S. Donovan Jr., Lawrence B. Foote, James L. Doggett; Nancy J. Wrigley, Town Administrator and Diane M. Morin, Selectmen's Secretary. The public hearing was audio and video taped; the public hearing minutes were transcribed and typed by Diane M. Morin.

Chairman Burrill read the public hearing notice as follows:

In accordance with NH RSA 31:95-b notice is hereby given to all residents of Newton, New Hampshire, that a Public Hearing for the purpose to discuss, take public comment and act upon the following items:

To accept and expend unanticipated funds from the Additional Highway Block Grant in the amount of \$91,992.34 from the State of New Hampshire.

Road Agent Mike Pivero informed the Board and Public how the funds were allocated from the State of New Hampshire to each town and that Newton received, \$91,992.34. He stated that the funds do not have to be used before the year end. However, the funds need to be used for new unfunded highway projects. The extra funds will allow the Town to complete more road work.

Selectman Doggett explained that most of the funds from the State came from a settlement with Volkswagen Corporation.

Resident Wesley Gundersen asked if there were any restrictions. Road Agent Pivero explained that the funds must be used for roadwork that support the highway infrastructure.

Chairman Burrill closed the public hearing at 6:42PM.

Selectman Doggett moved to accept and expend the unanticipated funds from the Additional Highway Block Grant in the amount of \$91,992.34 from the State of New Hampshire per Senate Bill 38. Seconded by Selectman Gonyer with a unanimous vote.

II. Adjourn 6:45pm Respectfully submitted,

Diane M. Morin Board of Selectmen Secretary